Accidental Cleanout with a Few Surprises

23 Feb

I live in a Cape Style home and because of the house’s architecture I have rolling racks on one side of my closet, and actual racks on the other side. A few weeks ago, I realized that one my rolling racks was steadily beginning to collapse, so I ordered a new one from Container Store. I had a little time this week, so I decided to put it together and replace the dilapidated one in my closet. I took this opportunity to clean out this portion of my closet, which comprised of pants, jeans and shorts. (I do this all the time for my clients, so why not for myself?)  This new rack is considerably smaller than the old one, but better quality, which forced me to re-organize and expunge some very old pieces. I organized that rack, which inevitably led me to other portions of my closet. I kept my clean out of other sections to a minimum, since I knew it could totally consume me. There is something so liberating about getting rid of clothes that have no use anymore. Its sort of like throwing old pieces of yourself that you have totally outgrown.

Some pieces I could not believe I still owned and found a few gems that I fell in love with all over again.

A small selection of what ended up in the Salvation Army pile.

A small selection of what ended up in the Salvation Army pile.

I decided to fold all of my shorts, rather keep them hanging in my closet.

I decided to fold all of my shorts, rather keep them hanging in my closet.

A couple of dresses that I forgot I already purchased for Spring.

A couple of dresses that I forgot I already purchased for Spring.

Found this army  jacket with great detailing hiding in the back of my closet. Can't wait to wear it when the weather breaks.

Found this army jacket with great detailing hiding in the back of my closet. Can't wait to wear it when the weather breaks.


Leave a Reply

