Burger with a side of Fries

26 Aug

Lately, I have been really into Bacon. This may sound odd, but for awhile I wasn’t eating it all. Then all the sudden I started craving it and wondered, “why did I ever stop eating it?” While thinking of what to make for dinner the other night I decided on a Turkey Cheeseburger with  Bacon, roasted sweet potatoes and Parmesan-Squash Cakes.

The Parmesan-Squash cakes recipe is one I stumbled upon a while ago and make quite often. They are pretty easy to assemble and are packed with flavor. One piece of advice when making these, be sure to squeeze out all the water from the squash after you shred them.  This can be done placing small amounts of the shredded squash in paper towels and ringing out all the excess water. This will help to ensure that cakes stay together more firmly when cooking them.


The ease and effortlessness of roasting vegetables often leads me to this cooking method. I always prefer a crunch to my food, so by preparing the potatoes with a coat of olive oil, seasoning and cooking them at a high temperature is always satisfying.



To finish off the burger I added a little Barbeque sauce on the bun. This really completed the taste of the burger. Highly recommend doing this if you re-create this dish at home. Enjoy!

One Response to “Burger with a side of Fries”

  1. Dana Smith August 26, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    Oh – YUM-YUM! Mouth watering post! Trying these babies out soon!

Leave a Reply

